LVTV Awards


Seven University of La Verne Communications Dept. students, alumni, and faculty members won Western Access Video Excellence (WAVE) Awards for their video productions.


Hux wins Telly award

Phantom wins Telly Award


Phantom wins Alliance for Community Media WAVE award
don at waves 2016


Miknao Dance Studio video finalist in Society of Professional JournalistsJ Region 11 Mark of Excellence Competition



Finalist in National SPJ Competition for Best Feature Photography Jetske Wauran “Depression the Hidden Struggle”

Finalists in Alliance for Community MediaWAVE awards for best narrative
Serena Ghazzawi and Natalie Kubes for “Hux”

Finalist in Alliance for Community Media WAVE awards for best narrative
Melanie Rodrigues and Emily Bolka for “Phantom”

University of La Verne student filmmakers took home five awards at the San Bernardino Valley College Film Festival.

“The Transformation”, a 20 minute teen werewolf comedy, written, directed and co-produced by McKinley Pollock (BA 2014) won best screenplay and best cinematography (James Perez (BA 2014) and Christopher Mitzel (BA 2014)

“Hunting Shadows” a suspense/horror short, written, directed and co-produced by Kaitlin Hollingsworth won Best Producer (Melanie Rodriguez (BA 2015)

“Depression: The Hidden Struggle” (written, produced, shot, edited and reported by Jetske Wauran) won Best News/Documentary

“Hux” a female, buddy comedy, written and directed by Serena Ghazzawi won best editing (Jeff Clarke (BA 2015)

Other University of La Verne films screened at the festival included two documentary shorts produced by the team of Scott Feuerhelm, Armando Tapia and Christian Reina (BA 2015) “Logan’s Candies” and “Harrison McIntosh”. Logan’s is about a historic candy store in Ontario and McIntosh is about local 100 year old ceramicist.

Several of these films have won awards previously: “The Transformation” from the Tellys, Broadcast Education Association, College Broadcasters Inc. and the Alliance for Community Media, “Depression” from the Society of Professional Journalists and the Alliance for Community Media, and

“Hunting Shadows” from the Broadcast Education Association.

Kaitlin Hollingsworth is currently enrolled in the MFA in filmmaking program at Chapman University, Melanie Rodriguez is working on her MBA at the University of La Verne and Jetske Wauran is a TV news reporter in Sioux City Iowa.


The work of two University of La Verne Communications Department broadcast students has been recognized by the Broad Cast Education Association in the annual Festival of Media Arts.

Narrative Videos

Honorable Mention:

Kaitlin Hollingsworth (writer/director/co-producer) & Melanie Rodriguez (producer); “Hunting Shadows”

Honorable Mention:

McKinley Pollock (writes/director/co-poducer) & Serena Ghazzawi (producer): “The Transformation”


Alliance for Community Media

     2014 Winners

Hometown Video Festival

▪   Marilyn Mejia, Ebony Williams, Tyler Harrison, Chantal Silva – “J. Brown: Violinmaker”
Winner, Documentary (Student)

     2013 Winners

W.A.V.E. Awards

▪   Halel Duberry – “LVTV Station Promo”
Winner, Program/Channel Promo (Community Producer)

▪   Anthony Troli, Kai Groschupf – “Young Adults”
Winner, Entertainment (Community Producer)

▪   Tanya Velazquez, Melanie Rodriguez, Ashley Rozatti – “Homestead Museum”
Winner, Informational/Culture (Community Producer)

▪   Jetske Wauran – “Mary Cotter 100th Birthday”
Winner, Programs by/For Seniors (Community Producer)

▪   Chelsea Stark-Jones – “Enjoying the Journey”
Winner, Sports Entertainment (Community Producer)

▪   Don Pollock – “Spotlight #3″
Winner, Magazine (Community Producer)

▪   Don Pollock, Shane Rodrigues – “Bonita High School Pop Show 2013″
Finalist, Performing Arts (Professional)

▪   Don Pollock, Christopher Hruby – “Freedom: From the Secrets of my Liberian Childhood”
Finalist, Talk Show/Issues (Professional)


Broadcast Education Association

     2014 Winners

▪   Donald Pollock, Raven Freret, Ashley Rozatti, Carissa Miranda, Claudia Gonzalez 
Award of Excellence, Mixed Video (Teacher/Student Co-Production) (Two Year/Small College Category), “Spotlight #3″

▪   Melanie Rodriguez, Jeff Clarke, Matthew Martin-Hall, Carissa Miranda
Honorable Mention, Visual Storytelling (Two Year/Small College Category), “Day One”


  • Loren Coronado
3rd Place, PSA, Promo or Commercial (Two Year/Small College Category), “Scandia Haunted House”


Chaffey Film Festival

     2014 Winners

▪   Anthony Troli
Audience Choice Award, “Young Adults”

Collegiate Broadcasters, Inc.

     2013 Winners

▪    Matthew Ashby, Brandon Montalvo, Chelsea Stark-Jones – “Enjoying the Journey”
Finalist, Best Sportscast (Television)


Columbia Scholastic Press Association

     2013 Winners

▪    Campus Times Staff
Gold Medalist, 2012-2013

▪    Campus Times Staff
Certificate of Merit, News Online Design Website for Digital Media


San Bernardino Valley College Film Festival

     2014 Winners

▪      Alexander Clague
Best Crime Drama, “Sugar and Love”

▪      Jetske Wauran
Best Cinematography, “Mary Cotter: 100 Years”

▪      Delanie Pacheco
Best Editing, “Road to Recovery”

▪      Chelsea Stark-Jones
Best News/Reality Short “Enjoying the Journey”

     2013 Winners

▪      Tanya Velasquez
Best News Story, “Homestead Museum”


Society of Professional Journalist

     2014 Winners

▪      Campus Times:
Mark of Excellence Awards (Region 11)

▪      Karla Rendon, Kat Simonelli
Finalist, Breaking News Reporting (Small Colleges), “Fire chars 17 acres in Claremont”

▪      Robert Penalber, Kat Simonelli
Finalist, General News Reporting (Small Colleges), “New dean plans rehab for law school / Bar passage rate rises for law school”

▪      LVTV-3 La Verne Community Television:
Mark of Excellence Awards (Region 11)

▪      Marilyn Mejia, Chantal Silva, Tyler Harrison, Ebony Williams
Finalist, Television Feature Reporting (Small Colleges), “J. Brown, Violin Maker”

     2013 Winners

▪      Campus Times:
Mark of Excellence Awards (Region 11)

▪      Jason D. Cox
1st Place, General News Reporting (Small Colleges), “Law school ABA bid begins again”

▪      Kristen Campbell
2nd Place, Feature Writing (Small Colleges), “Keeping It Together: Mental Health and College Collide”

▪      Karo Chakhlasyan
2nd Place, Breaking News Reporting (Small Colleges), “Debaters face judicial review”


The Tellys

     2014 Winners

▪      Melanie Rodriguez/Jeff Clarke/Matthew Martin-Hall – “Day One”
Bronze Award (Film/Video)

▪       Anthony Troli/Kai Groschupf – “Young Adults”
Bronze Award (Film/Video)

Home|About|Public Access|Schedule|Watch|Air|Photos|Staff|Awards|Facebook